Perspectives and Skew

No this isn’t art class….it’s more like sociology.

The world has grown more intolerant of others.  Perhaps it’s because of the social media culture.  Perhaps it stems from the baby boomers spreading their “I deserve it, and even if I don’t, I’m going to take it anyways” mentality.  And perhaps it comes down to the sexually hedonistic BDSM community that is focused on their pleasure only (both tops and bottoms).

This week, I witnessed a post calling people fucking idiots.  I witnessed a series of people calling a Dominant (that I know well enough to know she’s talented) a fraud, and uncreative.  And I thought back to old relationships where I was told that I wasn’t a good Dominant, and that I wasn’t respected.

Oddly, at this point in my life, I can take a lot of joy and peace from this.  I have learned the art and joy of empathy and sympathy, and that I personally am able to see other perspectives beyond my own.  I love that I can look at people in each of those positions and understand where they are coming from – respect their argument, yet still have my own.  Rather than complaining about how much ‘drama’ there is in life, and who is spreading what rumors….I know who to stay away from, and who to gravitate towards.  And I am learning to enjoy life, and kink, and people all over again.

So the same culture, the same people, the same arguments….have a slightly different skew from where I’m sitting.  And I count myself fortunate to be sitting there right now.

Happiness isn’t a condition – it’s a moment.  But I’m happily enjoying many such moments in a good long string this time around.  Funny how even my metaphors relate back to rope, huh?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment